Weekly Challenge for #EnviroEd # 48: Digital Literacy in Environmental Education

Posted on


Epiphanies in Environmental Education

photo

As an outdoor educator in a school board that is very forward thinking when it comes to student success I have embraced the concept of Bring Your Own Device (BYOD) and technology. I feel any current educator (and likely student) today would agree with this assessment.

I’m finding myself in a shadowy age zone these days. I find I am old enough to regale my children with stories of phones that were permanently attached to a wall or having to get up and flip a dial on the television if uninterested in the show I was watching.  But I’m still young enough not too really miss those days and to crave the newest devices. I feel my past allows me to appreciate when such devices are helpful.

Having said that, I love it when I see an effort to move away from devices as well. Gary Turk’s spoken word poem

View original post 699 more words

Leave a Reply

