Animal Friendly Tourism

Posted on


DANTAisms

When I first walked into the sanctuary I was interning at in Central America, I had no idea what to expect. Throughout my first week I watched anxiously for my turn as other alum interns cared for and carried baby howlers. We provided all meals, carried them into the forest, and played with them throughout the day. It was everyone’s dream, right? To play with baby monkeys?

I waited and waited until I was finally approached by one of the juveniles. She was afraid of a wild primate juvenile male that was interested in her, and often sought out protection from us interns.

Juvenile Howler

It was an amazing feeling, having her trust me to protect her from harm. I knew at that moment this was the beginning of being a surrogate mother for her and the other juveniles we were rehabilitating. It was so new and exciting.

A couple weeks later…

View original post 586 more words

Leave a Reply

